

Perugia, October 21st, 2016

To whom it may concern

Ref.: UNESCO HERITAGE SITES CROWDMAPPING COMPETITION: 2016 Awardees

The UNESCO Heritage Sites Crowdmapping Competition Jury is glad to inform you that the 2016 awardees are:

1st place: Marco Peppucci 2nd place: Pierpaolo Papini 3rd place: Andrea Spasiano & Simona Lippi (ex aequo)

Considering the 32 participants the Jury has positively evaluated 8 projects as meeting the minimum technical requirements specified in the Competition Terms & Conditions.

The final ranking was evaluated by the Jury that jointly discussed the best projects considering three main criteria: the quality, quantity and organization of the (media and information) content; the GIS work with specific regard to the creation of novel GIS layers of the cultural/historical/natural value and associated risk; the use of social media and subjective analysis for representing the "user experience" on the selected UNESCO site. Each jury member assigned a maximum of 5 points per project per each criterion. Maximum score could be 5×7 (jury members) x 3 (criteria) = 105. The final scores are inserted in the following table

Rank	Name	Last Name	UNESCO Site	CONTENT (MEDIA AND TEXT)	GIS (CULTURAL HERITAGE AND RISK)	SOCIAL MEDIA ("USER EXPERIENCE")	Total
1	Marco	Peppucci	City of Verona	31	30	29	90
2	Pierpaolo	Papini	Val d'Orcia	28	24	27	79
3	Andrea	Spasiano	Historic Center of Naples	23	26	27	76
3	Simona	Lippi	Rhaetian Railway in the Albula/Bernina Landscapes	30	22	24	76
4	Fulvio	Chiattini	Historic Center of Florence	23	17	22	62
5	Qian	Zhao	West Lake of Hangzhou (China)	23	15	19	57
6	Jennifer	Trotter	Poverty Point State Historic Louisiana (USA)	21	17	19	57
7	Eleonora	Mastroforti	Villa Adriana	21	17	19	57

Participants raking from 1 to 3 receive a Special Professional Certificate as "Best Project - 2016 Awardees" together with a 1-year professional license of ESRI ArcGIS Software. The other participants ranking 4 to 7 receive the Digital Mapping Professional Certificate.

Sincerely,

Pietro Coffaro, Paolo Gull, Paolo Carafa, Giuseppina Monacelli, Chiara Biscarini, Stefan Uhlenbrook, Fernando Nardi (President of the Jury)